Not my finest

I fucked up at work today. Ended up in tears at my desk. Actually it was a mistake I made a while back that came to light today, but what’s the difference. My carelessness has affected 30 people’s lives, plus the admin team now trying to fix this. One of the team, who I really respect, said his evening couldn’t have been made any worse.

Bugger.

I didn’t handle it very well. After work my housemate said it doesn’t matter what mistakes we make, it’s how we deal with them – except, my life philosophy is doing everything possible to avoid mistakes in the first place, so I don’t have to deal with them. When I do make a mistake it’s awful, I can’t take it – thus the tears today.

I’m not very proud of myself.

But I’m not going to wallow in self-loathing either.

Repeat after me, MQ. We all make mistakes. Get over it.

Leave a Reply

